Northern Virginia 2017-2018 Real Estate Base Property Tax

If you are a homeowner in the Northern Virginia area we forgot how much real estate property taxes we are paying since it gets escrowed in the monthly mortgage payment.
For few who are fortunate to have no mortgage or lender allows you to pay your own tax bill you will need to stick a reminder to pay the bill on time to avoid penalties or worst case lien on your home.

Here is the breakdown of all the local Northern Virginia cities & counties the due date, property tax rate and their websites:

City of Alexandria-

The first half of the tax bill is mailed in May and is due by June 15. The second tax bill is mailed in October and is due by November 15. Tax Rate is $1.13 for every $100

City of Fairfax: –

The first half of the tax bill is due on June 21 and second half tax bill is due on December 5.Tax Rate is $1.0645 for every $100 (Old town serv. dist +$0.06 per $100)

The City of Arlington-

Payment is made to the Treasurer’s Office in two installments, due June 15 and October 5. Tax Rate is $1.006 for every $100.

The city of Falls Church-

Payment is made to the Treasurer’s Office in two installments, due on June 5 and Dec 2. Tax Rate is $1.33 for every $100.

Town of Herndon-

Tax bills are mailed out 3 to 4 weeks prior to the due dates. The due dates are July 28 and December 5 each year. Tax Rate is $0.265 for every $100 + Fairfax County Tax Assessment.

Loudoun County-

The first half of the tax bill payment due on June 5 and the second half payment due on December 5. Tax Rate is $1.125 for every $100.

Fairfax County-

Tax bills are mailed out 3 to 4 weeks prior to the due dates. The due dates are July 28 and December 5 each year. Tax Rate is $1.13 for every $100.

Prince William County-

Similar to other jurisdictions tax payments are divided into two equal installments. Payment for the first installment is due on July 15 and payment for the second installment is due on Dec. 5. Tax Rate is $1.125 for every $100.

New Construction real estate tax assessment-

If you are purchasing a new construction home most of the counties & cities will send out a supplement bill that will show the adjustment of the tax due. Speak with your closing agent on what to do if you receive a supplemental insurance bill.